SAFF Ordinary Congress 2019 held in Nepal

SAFF Ordinary Congress 2019 held in Nepal

President of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Kazi Md. Salahuddin thanked all associations of member countries for extending hearty cooperation in the development of the game in the South Asian region.

He made this appreciation at the SAFF Ordinary Congress 2019 that took place in Kathmandu, Nepal on Tuesday, April 30 at Soaltee Crowne Plaza. A minute of silence was absorbed by all the attendees for the tragic incident that took place in Sri Lanka.

In his welcome remarks, Mr. Salahuddin, who is also the President of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF), said, “I acknowledge every bit of cooperation made by the member associations in the development of football in the region. I look forward to working together as a family to make further progress of the game in all South Asian countries at various levels.”

SAFF Vice Presidents Khadem Ali Shah (Pakistan), Mani Kanwar (Nepal) and General Secretary Anwarul Huq (Bangladesh) were among others attended congress. Alexandre Gros (France) joined the congress as FIFA representative.

Apart from various discussing agendas in regards to the improvement of SAFF activities, the Ordinary Congress in its session also approved the Auditors report of 2017&2018.

On a different note the following competitions venue was finalized in the SAFF Executive Committee meeting held on Monday, April 29, 2019 at the same venue.

Competitions Host Country Date
SAFF Under- 15 Championship India 22 – 31 August 2019
SAFF Under-18 Championship Nepal 20-29 September 2019


The Executive Committee requested Bangladesh Football Federation and Bhutan Football Federation to come to a mutual decision on hosting the next episode of the SAFF Under-15 Women’s Championship as both member associations showed interest in hosting the event

Besides, the Congress ratified the decision of the executive committee in nominating Anura de silva SAFF Vice President and President of Sri Lanka Football Federation as a SAFF representative in the AFC Executive Committee.